Anne Barreda and Kristin Kralicek combined with Janice Hynes and third-place finisher Molly Sullivan (13-2) to help win the 1987 NCAA women’s title, with the competition held at Notre Dame’s Joyce Center. The foursome defeated Temple 9-3 in a dual meet format to win the title in the final year Rev. Edmund P. Joyce C.S.C. — the facility's namesake — served as executive vice president of the University.